Dreams & Life: Truly Living

English: A cruising sailboat at Green Island, ...

English: A cruising sailboat at Green Island, in the San Blas Islands, Panama. The mainland of Panama is in the background. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I’ll tell you something I’ve always wanted to do, like millions of other people: travel. I love an adventure. I love spontaneity. Setting sail with no notion of where you will end up three hours from now, that night, the next day, or the next week. If I was free of responsibilities, I would do this. I would accept the challenges I have dreamed up for my free, dreamer self.

Do you ever wish you could split into two versions of yourself, like a choose-your-ending mystery, and decide later, at a convergence, to become one again, but with twice as many experiences and memories? One’s night can be the other’s day.

One challenge I would accept is traveling cross country with an allowance to kick-start the journey and having to utilize my creativity and talents to reach each subsequent town. Delving into America, meeting and learning about the multitude of people that share this country with me. And learning about myself. How strong will I stand when met with a challenge?

Another dream I have is to travel in search of ‘Good Samaritans’, and give them the credit they deserve through a blog/e-newsletter. I want to share their stories. Show the world that they exist. Inspire the world. Inspire myself.

Not the billionaire that gave a million dollars to a charity, or a variety of charities, and had his/her name splashed across the front pages. But the everyday folk that go above and beyond the call of duty to help their fellow human beings, and all living creatures. It’s the everyday folk, the people like us and with less than us, that inspire us most with their willingness to give and sacrifice for the good of others. It tells us that we can do the same, and inspires us to follow the intentions through with actions.

Eventually I may see these dreams, and more, birthed into reality.

And I know these dreams are not original ideas. But they would be original experiences to me. I don’t want to read about how someone else did it, how it changed them, and what they learned. Well, that is, I do want to read about it, but I also want to experience it for myself. I want to give, I want to learn, I want to experience, I want to live.

Too often we rely on others for our lives. We live through the actors and writers of television and movies, through the characters and writers of the books we read, through what our neighbor did that was broadcast on last night’s news, through our relatives who have far more interesting lives than we do. We try to add their experiences to our own without leaving the comfort of our pillowed seats. To experience the height and depth of emotion from security.

And, yes, that’s one of the reasons I want to write: to transport people to another world, to give them experiences they may never have, to let them see, walk, and feel through someone else, beyond themselves. But not, certainly not, as a substitute for their own life. It should be a supplement.

Go out into the world and experience, feel, live!

“It is nothing to die. It is frightful not to live.” – Victor Hugo, Les Miserables

Ciao

7 Comments

Filed under Random, Writing

7 responses to “Dreams & Life: Truly Living

  1. I saw your like and was drawn to the title of your piece here. You sound like the kind of writer who has the same ideas as me concerning putting the empahsis and conccern about what and how you write on the reader. I have received some, not much, flak from espousing such a thing. I write for myself only in that I have to fulfill the desire to put an idea down, but I do the work, the tightening of screws and bolts for the reader’s experience. What good is a writer without a person to connect with, to havew them see something you have in a different light. Yes I enjoy writing, but truth be told, I enjoy being read even more–ego aside (too much of that will kill your talent). Before I forget I enjoyed your piece–well written.Thank you.>KB

  2. sarahlea443

    Amazing. Incredible.

  3. Anonymous

    I’m very anxious to read some of your books. I’m anxious to have these adventures.

Havin' a Thought?

