The Way It Is

English: Debrecen - McDonald's

English: Debrecen – McDonald’s (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Sometimes I wonder: Why the heck did I have to want to be a writer?

Why couldn’t I want something simple? Or something complicated but attainable? Why couldn’t I dream of being a teacher? Or a nurse? Or a career waitress? Or a McDonald’s employee? Something attainable through a set education? Something that has a normal-to-high chance of employment in the field upon graduation?

Why did it have to be writing and authorship?

But when I think about it… I guess I dream of being Me. I am a writer. I am a story-teller (in the modern sense of the word…not a liar). 😉 That’s just the way it is. Would I change it? No. But, sometimes, being human, I wish I was normal. But, oftentimes, being human, I’m elated that I’m not.

So what am I going to do? Am I going to sit on my Writer’s Bum  and do nothing? Or am I going to sit on it and do a lot of something (writing). And so I push steadily onward. I am a writer. I am an author. And, one day, I will be a published author – even if it’s self-published and 99% of the world hates it. (It could never be 100% hated…I love myself too much for that. – Kidding!) 😀

Oh but wait, I am published – an internet-published author. Sweet! 8)

 

2 Comments

Filed under Writing

2 responses to “The Way It Is

  1. I’ve had this exact same feeling regarding careers. It’s nice to know I’m not the only one who feels that way. Kudos to you for keeping at your writing!

Havin' a Thought?

