What’s In A Name…

Early fall color along hiking trail in the Ice...

Early fall color along hiking trail in the Ice Lake Basin. Fuller Peak and Golden Horn can be seen in the far background. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

The somewhat overused phrase…but with good reason.

Well, I finally did it. I found the name. Granted, it’s not on my current novel. But it is on one I will be discovering shortly thereafter. And it’s been plaguing me that I did not know the name. It poked and prodded and teased. Merciless. But I finally ‘bested the beast’.

The name is vital. Vital to the entirety of the book. It is involved in the title, involved in the essence of the protagonist, involved in the other characters’ perception of the protagonist. It felt so incomplete to only have part of the title. If I had not had any of it, it would have been better than some and not all.

This afternoon I found myself with the inclination to wander in its direction again. I started following the usual trails, trying to find the rabbit trail off the main path. I followed several through the dictionaries and origins and variations. Nothing. Some would come close in essence but not the correct sound or immediate reaction. But one came so close. I could feel the victory standing on the opposite cliff. All I had to do was find a way across that opening of nothingness between us. I followed the main path to a rabbit trail and then to a hunch that led to another hunch. I knew the correct name was buried just a little deeper, so I tweaked and twisted until ‘Voila!’ it was staring back at me.

Sigh. Happiness. It is finished. The title is complete, the essence is named. I can continue with my current work without the incessant interruptions of an incomplete task.

The ridiculous thing is: I have set my mind to the task periodically for more than a year now. But, no matter, it is complete at last. That story can rest peacefully (semi-peacefully, it still calls to me sometimes) until its turn comes.

Ciao

1 Comment

Filed under Writing

One response to “What’s In A Name…

  1. Hector

    quite a task I imagine

Havin' a Thought?

